Term dates

The information below shows the date patterns set by the city council, which all maintained and voluntary controlled schools in the city are obliged to follow. Academies and free schools are able to set their own term dates. If your child attends an academy or a free School, you should check with the school directly to ask them about their own term dates.

Further information

School term and holiday dates 2015/16

Autumn term 2015

Open/Closure/Holidays Dates
Schools open Thursday 27 August 2015
Bank holiday Monday 31 August 2015
Schools close Friday 16 October 2015
Autumn half term Monday 19 October to Friday 23 October 2015
Schools open Monday 26 October 2015
Schools close Friday 18 December 2015
Christmas and new year holiday Monday 21 December 2015 to Monday 4 January 2016

Spring term 2016

Open/Closure/Holidays Dates
Schools open Tuesday 5 January 2016
Schools close Friday 12 February 2016
Spring half term Monday 15 February to Friday 19 February 2016
Schools open Monday 22 February 2016
Schools close Thursday 24 March 2016
Easter holidays Friday 25 March 2016 to Friday 8 April 2016

Summer term 2016

Open/Closure/Holidays Dates
Schools open Monday 11 April 2016
Bank holiday Monday 2 May 2016
Schools close Friday 27 May 2016
Summer half term Monday 30 May to Friday 3 June 2016
Schools open Monday 6 June 2016
Schools close Friday 15 July 2016

Future term dates

School term and holiday date patterns for the three academic years from 2015/16 to 2017/18 were agreed by public consultation. The results can be viewed below.

Attachments