A description of the area covered by the Direction
Holy Trinity is the earliest 19th Century residential district in Leicester and its architectural character is unique in the city. It was declared a Housing Action Area in January 1980 and in order to preserve its special character it was included in the New Walk Conservation Area in June 1980. This extension does not alter the outstanding status of New Walk.
The principal streets in the area were laid out very early in the 19th Century and the County Gaol constructed in 1828. The housing was built between the 1820s and the 1890s with the majority of properties constructed in the 1850s and 1860s. The area is tightly built up with two- and three-storey terraced housing, some blocks with small front gardens and some directly fronting the street. The houses were built by a variety of developers in short terraces and although the details of each group vary the properties have been built to similar designs. The earlier terraces were rendered in stucco and the later houses are largely built of red brick. The older properties have small paned windows and many buildings have attractive eaves details and hoods with console brackets above the door and window openings. The area includes many statutory listed buildings including the northern side of Upper King Street and the southern side of Princess Road; most properties in Upper King Street and Regent Road are now used as offices.