Skip to content

Term dates

Information on term dates for the 2022-23 school year in Leicester. Future term dates for 2023-24 to 2026-27 and can be found at the bottom of this page.

Term dates

The information below shows the date patterns we set, which all maintained and voluntary controlled schools in the city are obliged to follow.

Children are expected to attend 190 days in each school year. Schools identify five other days for staff training, these are known as INSET days. Schools can choose different dates on which to close for INSET days, the local authority recommends some of these days. We strongly advise that you check with your own school directly to confirm.

Academies and free schools are able to set their own term dates, you should always check with the school directly to ask them about their own term dates.

School term and holiday dates 2022/23

Autumn term 2022

Open / Closure/ Holidays Dates
Schools open Tuesday 30 August 2022
Schools close Friday 14 October 2022
Autumn half term Monday 17 October to Friday 21 October 2022
Schools open Monday 24 October 2022
Schools close Friday 16 December 2022
Christmas and new year holiday Monday 19 December 2022 to Monday 2 January 2023

Spring term 2023

Open / Closure / Holidays Dates
Schools open Tuesday 3 January 2023
Schools close Friday 17 February 2023
Spring half term Monday 20 February to Friday 24 February 2023
Schools open Monday 27 February 2023
Schools close Friday 31 March 2023
Easter holidays Monday 3 April to Friday 14 April 2023

Summer term 2023

Open / Closure / Holidays Dates
Schools open Monday 17 April 2023
Bank holiday Monday 1 May 2023
Schools close Friday 26 May 2023
Summer half term Monday 29 May to Friday 2 June 2023
Schools open Monday 5 June 2023
Schools close Friday 14 July 2023
Summer holiday begins Monday 17 July 2023

Future term dates

We recently consulted on school term and holiday date patterns for 2022/23 through to 2026/27. Agreed dates can be viewed below: