Skip to content

My team

Find out the areas that my executive team are responsible for.

Details of responsibilities for each executive member are set out below. As well as their specific portfolios, the executive team work together on several matters that have significant financial or public implications. These include the use of the council's resources, its assets and employees, equalities and community cohesion.

All executive members will be responsible for ensuring that:

  • the council consults and works effectively and appropriately with our partners, people who use our services and other stakeholders
  • agreed budgets are monitored effectively and adhered to, including driving forward spending reductions that are required to balance our budgets
  • the commitments for portfolio areas are understood and delivered over the next four years.

All of the team are expected to be held accountable:

  • to the people of Leicester through the media, public meetings and correspondence
  • to the council though proper engagement and co-operation with scrutiny and council processes.

Peter Soulsby, City Mayor

Responsible for the following council services:

  • Strategic planning and regeneration
  • Highways and transport (includes flood prevention)
  • Street lighting
  • Parking
  • City centre and market
  • Finance
  • Property
  • Corporate resources: legal, HR, procurement, communications
  • Digital, data and technology
  • Constitution, democratic services and elections.

Councillor Adam Clarke, Deputy City Mayor

Responsible for the following council services:

  • Climate readiness and net zero
  • Air quality
  • Flood planning and water courses
  • Resilience and emergency planning
  • Heritage and conservation
  • Museums
  • Festivals and events
  • Sport and leisure
  • Active travel and public transport
  • Inward investment
  • Tourism
  • Economic growth.

Councillor Elly Cutkelvin, Deputy City Mayor

Responsible for the following council services:

  • Housing
  • Asylum and migration
  • Regulatory services and enforcement
  • Customer services
  • Waste and recycling
  • Street cleaning
  • Pollution control
  • Planning and development control
  • Parks, trees and woodlands
  • Bereavement services.

Councillor Sarah Russell, Deputy City Mayor

Responsible for the following council services:

  • Adult social care
  • Children’s social care
  • Health
  • Early help
  • Welfare advice
  • Community safety
  • Armed Forces Champion.

When required, in the absence of the City Mayor, to act as the formal and statutorily required Deputy City Mayor.

Councillor Vi Dempster, Assistant City Mayor

Responsible for the following council services:

  • Education
  • Special educational needs and disabilities
  • Libraries and community centres
  • Mental health champion
  • Allotments and community growing
  • Ward community funding.

Councillor Mustafa Malik, Assistant City Mayor

Responsible for:

  • Voluntary and community sector
  • Adult learning
  • Jobs and skills
  • Equalities Strategy.

Councillor Manjula Sood, Assistant City Mayor

Responsible for community cohesion.