Skip to content

Selective licensing

A new licensing scheme has been introduced in Leicester to help improve private rented accommodation in three areas of the city adversely affected by housing-related problems. The scheme will also protect tenants from rogue landlords whose properties do not meet required standards.

Which areas fall under selective licensing?

Selective licensing requires all private rented properties in the designated areas to be licensed by the city council. These include parts of Braunstone Park and Rowley Fields, Fosse, Westcotes, Stoneygate, and Saffron wards. All privately rented properties in the designated areas are included in the scheme unless they are exempt.

Houses in multiple occupation licensing

Privately rented properties occupied by five or more people living as two or more households are covered by mandatory HMO licences and are not included in this scheme.

Landlord responsibilities

Selective licensing places conditions on landlords to ensure issues such as gas and electrical safety, installation of smoke, fire and carbon monoxide alarms are adequately dealt with, along with matters such as repairs and maintenance, waste disposal, tenancy management and issues connected with anti-social behaviour.

What conditions do landlords need to meet? 

We will only issue a licence once we are satisfied that the points listed below have been met. In the event of any of the issues not being satisfactory we may decide to impose extra conditions on the licence - or refuse the licence completely:

  • The proposed licence holder and proposed manager/agent (if applicable) is a 'fit and proper person'
  • The proposed licence holder is the most appropriate person to hold the licence
  • The proposed management arrangements are satisfactory
  • Persons involved in the management of the property are competent
  • The property is free from Category 1 Hazards as assessed under the Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS) Housing Act 2004.
The selective licensing scheme is a non-profit scheme. All money received from licensing fees will be used to cover the cost of implementing and running the scheme.

The fee is broken down into two parts; Part A covers the costs associated with processing the licence application and Part B covers the cost of compliance actions relating to the scheme.

The scheme came into force on 10 October 2022 and will run for a period of five years, after which it will be reviewed. The fee payable covers the duration of the scheme.