Skip to content

Councillors and wards

City Hall entrance close-up

We have 54 councillors – 31 Labour, 15 Conservative, three Green Party, three Liberal Democrat, one One Leicester and one Independent – across 21 wards.


Councillors are ordinary members of the public, who are elected by the residents of Leicester to act as a voice for the communities they live in.

They speak up for users of council services, and make decisions at council meetings on major issues affecting the residents of Leicester, such as setting council tax, and making judgements on planning applications.

All councillors sit for a period of four years, after which a fresh election is held.

You can see which councillors represent which ward using the quick link above.


Councillors are elected to represent a number of local residents in an area called a ward. A ward is a geographical boundary used to divide the city up into different areas.

There are now 21 wards with each one having either two or three councillors, depending on its size.

Contact us

Write to us: Member Support, City Hall, Third Floor, Granby Wing, 115 Charles Street, Leicester, LE1 1FZ
Ring us on: 0116 454 6360
Send us a message